General Information

Schengen Visa

A Schengen visa is a visa for the Schengen Area: 26 countries with no border controls between them. These countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The Schengen countries require visitors to obtain a common visa, which permits entry to the Schengen Area. The Schengen countries have reached agreements with each other on entry requirements and a common visa application form.

A Schengen visa’s validity may be limited to only one country (for instance the Netherlands) or a specified number of countries (for instance Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands). In such cases, the visa holder may visit only the countries for which the Schengen visa is valid.

Schengen Visa (short term/max. 90 days per 180 days)

If you are a national that needs a Schengen visa for the Netherlands, you must obtain this visa prior to your trip. To check which nationalities need a Schengen visa to enter the Netherlands, click Do I need a visa?

Netherlands Visa for more than 90 days

Visa for the Netherlands for more than 90 days (‘MVV’) can be applied directly at the Embassy or at the IND (Immigration office at the Netherlands). Please click here for more information.

Visas for the Caribbean parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands

As of 10 October 2010 it is possible to visit more than one Caribbean part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands using a single visa. The visa is valid for all parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in the Caribbean for a visit as a tourist or for a short stay in the countries Aruba, Curacao and St Maarten and for the Dutch Caribbean islands Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba. There is only one type of visa for the Caribbean countries and the Dutch public bodies: the short stay Caribbean visa. A Caribbean short-stay visa is generally valid for 6 months. It is a multiple-entry visa, which means that you can use it more than once. The visa lets you stay in the Caribbean parts of the Kingdom for up to 90 days in a 180-day period. It also lets you travel between the Caribbean parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (Aruba, Bonaire, CuraƧao, Saba, St Eustatius and St Maarten). Please click here for more information, including information about which nationals (do not) require a visa for the Caribbean part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (the countries Aruba, Curacao and Saint Maarten and the Dutch public bodies Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba). To receive more information about applying for Caribbean visa specifically in Pakistan, click here.

Please click on the links below for further information.